The University Musical Society

The University of Michigan

Presents

Baroque Ensemble, U.S.S.R.

IGOR POPKOV, Violin Boris Shishkin, Flute
Alexandr Poplavski, Cello
Anatolyi Korchagin, Oboe Alexandr Sobolev, Harpsichord

SUNDAY AFTERNOON, OCTOBER 28, 1973, AT 2:30 RACKHAM AUDITORIUM, ANN ARBOR, MICHIGAN

PROGRAM

Sonata for Three Melodic Instruments and Figured Bass DE BOISMORTIER Adagio Allegro Largo Allegro
Sonata No. 8 in D major LECLAIR (For Violin, Cello, and Harpsichord) Adagio Allegro Sarabande, aria Allegro assai
Quartet in D minor
INTERMISSION
Concerto in G minor Beresovsky (First Fugue in Russian Music) (1745–1777) Adagio Allegro moderato Adagio Fuga
Yaroslovskaia Symphony in C major Russia, 18th Cent. Anon. Allegro Andante Menuetto Vivace
Melodia Records

Third Concert

COMING EVENTS

Music from Iran Wednesday, 8:30, October 31
First program of Asian Series, followed by The Little Angels, Nov. 11; Awaji Puppet Theater of Japan, February 19; Kathak Dancers, North India, April 3. Limited series tickets still available.
LENINGRAD PHILHARMONIC Saturday, 8:30, November 3 All-Prokofieff: Symphony No. 5, Piano Concerto No. 2, Scythian Suite
LENINGRAD PHILHARMONIC Sunday, 2:30, November 4 Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 3; Prokofieff: "Alexander Nevsky" cantata, with the Festival Chorus and Joy Davidson, mezzo-soprano
ABREU BROTHERS, <i>Guitarists</i>
Budapest Symphony Orchestra Saturday, 8:30, November 10
The Little Angels, Korea Sunday, 3:00, November 11
Tel Aviv String Quartet Wednesday, 8:30, November 14
Modern Jazz Quartet Thursday, 8:00, November 15
Tickets on sale at Burton Memorial Tower—telephone 665-3717

The University Musical Society relies on public support in order to maintain the scope and artistic quality of these programs. Tax-deductible contributions to our Gift Program are welcome.

UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Gail W. Rector, President Harlan Hatcher, Vice-President Erich A. Walter, Secretary E. Thurston Thieme, Treasurer

Richard S. Berger Allen P. Britton Douglas D. Crary Robben W. Fleming Peter N. Heydon Paul G. Kauper Wilbur K. Pierpont Sarah G. Power