



# THE UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

# Lewitzky Dance Company

# BELLA LEWITZKY

Artistic Director and Principal Choreographer

DARLENE NEEL, Costume and Light Designer LARRY ATTAWAY, Music Director

Tuesday Evening, March 25, 1986, at 8:00 Power Center for the Performing Arts Ann Arbor, Michigan

# PROGRAM

#### 8 DANCERS / 8 LIGHTS (1985)

Choreography: BELLA LEWITZKY Music and Neon Concept: DONALD KNAACK Recording Produced by DONALD and PEGGY KNAACK Costume, Set, and Lighting Design: DARLENE NEEL Technical Design: NEWELL TAYLOR REYNOLDS Electronic Engineering: HEWLETT ELECTRONICS

Amy Ernst Sean Greene Walter Kennedy Nancy Lanier Lori McWilliams John Pennington Claudia Schneiderman Kenneth B. Talley

Choreographic grants for this work provided by the National Endowment for the Arts, California Arts Council, Cultural Affairs Department of the City of Los Angeles, and Los Angeles County Music and Performing Arts Commission.

#### INTERMISSION

This performance and residency activities at The University of Michigan by the Lewitzky Dance Company are made possible in part by Arts Midwest and its member state arts agencies in Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, North and South Dakota, Ohio, and Wisconsin; National Endowment for the Arts; and by private partners.

Seventieth Concert of the 107th Season

#### SUITE SATIE (1980)

#### Choreography: Bella Lewitzky Music: Erik Satie Decor and Light Design: Darlene Neel

In order of appearance:

Claudia Schneiderman Walter Kennedy Nancy Lanier

Theodora Fredericks John Pennington Amy Ernst Sean Greene

Pianists: Bonita Sonsini and Larry Attaway

Choreographic grant for Suite Satie provided by the National Endowment for the Arts.

#### INTERMISSION

#### NOS DURATURI (1984)

Choreography: Bella Lewitzky \*Music: IGOR STRAVINSKY Costume and Lighting Design: Darlene Neel

Deborah Collodel Amy Ernst Theodora Fredericks Sean Greene Gregory Hancock Walter Kennedy Kimo Kimura Nancy Lanier Lori McWilliams John Pennington Claudia Schneiderman Kenneth B. Talley

Solo: Amy Ernst

Duet: Walter Kennedy and Sean Greene

\*Symphony of Psalms by arrangement with Boosey & Hawkes, Inc., publisher and copyright owner. Recording by the William Hall Chorale and Orchestra, William D. Hall, conductor.

Choreographic grants for *Nos Duraturi* provided by National Endowment for the Arts, California Arts Council, and Cultural Affairs Department of the City of Los Angeles.

#### About the Artists

Bella Lewitzky's intellect and style has earned her an international reputation as a trailblazer in modern dance. Her early training was with Lester Horton, and later, as his colleague, she co-founded Dance Theater in Los Angeles. A Californian, she chose to remain in the West, founding Dance Associates in 1955 and her present company in 1966. Her work as a choreographer, dancer, lecturer, and educator has been recognized through numerous awards, such as a Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship, Dance Magazine awards, and commissions from the National Endowment for the Arts, as well as two major grants for an artistic director's discretionary fund from the Andrew S. Mellon Foundation. She has been actively involved with the development of dance in the United States, leading her to serve as a board member for several national arts organizations. One such group is the California Arts Council, to which she was appointed in 1983.

The Lewitzky Dance Company has been hailed for its technically formidable, exuberant, and sensitive performers. The group's versatility appears in all its facets: in its discipline — expertly trained for strength and flexibility; in its repertoire — conventional to experimental; and in its sounds — classical to electronic . . . all reflecting the basic Lewitzky philosophy that art is an ongoing process, and that the only constant is change.

The Company now appears in Ann Arbor for the first time.

#### UNIVERSITY MUSICAL SOCIETY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

DOUGLA HOWARD S. HOLMES \*DAVID B. KENNEDY RICHARD L. KENNEDY \*PATRICK B. LONG

GAIL W. RECTOR, PresidentJOHN W. REED, Vice PresidentDOUGLAS D. CRARY, SecretaryJOHN D. PAUL, TreasurerDLMESALAN G. MERTENLOIS U.NEDYSARAH GODDARD POWERE. THUFENNEDYHAROLD T. SHAPIROJERRY A

, Treasurer LOIS U. STEGEMAN E. THURSTON THIEME JERRY A. WEISBACH

\*First term began January 1, 1986.

### Watch for new 1986-87 Season Announcement on April 7!